top of page

Staxx: Restaurant Review

After premiering on The Food Network’s You Gotta Eat Here, Staxx Burger Chicken & Waffle House has become a popular restaurant in the heart of downtown Hamilton. Staxx is a small but mighty restaurant that has brought a twist to the typical chicken and waffles. I went to Staxx to see if their food was as good as it looked on TV.

I chose to go at lunchtime so the restaurant was not that busy. The friendly staff answered all my questions with confidence. Staxx’s menu ranged from the typical chicken and waffles, to burgers and sandwiches, to multiple sweet and savoury desserts.

For starters, they give every single table a basket of house-made chips. These chips had a little spice to them that was not too powerful, but the chips themselves were over-done and hard to eat.

For my main course, I decided to get the fried chicken and waffles. I was amazed at the portion size and was excited to dig in. I was given a choice of either their homemade barbeque sauce or their hot sauce. I ended up going with the barbeque sauce and it was amazing. The sauce had a little kick to it and was the perfect paring with the chicken. The chicken was crispy on the outside and moist on the inside. The chicken was delicious and very easy to pull apart. The waffle, on the other hand, was nothing special but did nicely complement the chicken.

Staxx is definitely a restaurant I would go back to, and next time I would make sure to make room for one of their desserts. I would give this restaurant 8.5 out of 10, as they created a new love for me: chicken and waffles.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page